School Council


School Councils were formed to support the school and provide the opportunity to advise the principal and school board on any matters relating to the school and education. Our School Council is made up of parents, staff, students and community members. We are a fairly informal group who meet once a month to discuss school issues.

At every meeting, members have the opportunity to hear reports from the school administration, student representative, and committee of school councils' representative as well as a report from the school board trustee assigned to our school. Participation is encouraged and there is usually lively discussion on a wide range of topics.

There isn't any fundraising done by our School Council! According to the School Council Regulation we are to be given the opportunity to provide advice on the development of the school's mission, vision, and philosophy; policies; annual education plan; annual results report and the budget.

Schedule & Meetings

Meetings are held in the upstairs Learning Commons (Library) or virtually starting at 6 p.m. Regular attendance is not required. Please check out our school calendar and weekly Falcons View for scheduled School Council Meetings. Please email to have the virtual code emailed to you or try this link to join: School Council

NOTE: Dates and start times are tentative and can change if the Chairperson and the Principal determine that it is necessary for the meeting to be changed.

Scheduled Meeting dates:
September 21, 2021 (virtual)
October 19, 2021 (virtual)
November 16, 2021 (virtual)
January 18, 2022
February 15, 2022
March 15, 2022
April 19, 2022
May 17, 2022

Bev Facey School Council Operating Procedures:
BFH School Council Operating Procedures April 2021

Executive 2021-2022

Chairperson: Karen Tomnuk
Vice Co-Chairperson: Krista Scott
Secretary: Tara Jones-Whitford
Staff appreciation: Pam Smith and Kathi Jette
COSC representative: Krista Scott

Thank you for your commitment and hard work supporting public education!